Wellness Wednesday…All I Want for Christmas -Less Stress, More Joy

 

logo_1024x

Good Morning, and Happy Wednesday! How’s your week going? Let me guess – busy, busy, busy! It’s that time of year. Isn’t it? You’ve probably been wondering why you haven’t seen a Wellness Wednesday article for the past few weeks, and my answer is the same– I’ve been busy, busy, busy! Kirt and I are working hard to bring you new products, start new programs, reach new people, and network with prominent community members.   Oh, and we can’t forget to buy Christmas gifts. That’s still on our list. We’ve been going non-stop.

screen-shot-2015-12-22-at-3-45-44-pmI bet you feel the same. Christmas is supposed to be such a happy time of the year. For some reason, though, it can become really stressful. We worry so much about the gifts, and the food, and making sure the family’s happy, and on, and on, and on. When do we have time to enjoy it?

I’ve been very stressed by everything the past few weeks and have been searching for ways to reduce stress. If you Google suggestions, some of the common tips for reducing stress are as follows:

  • Meditate or do yoga
  • Deep breathing
  • Exercise
  • Slow down and be present in the moment

 

These are all great suggestions, and I highly recommend each of them. For me, though, these tactics just weren’t doing the trick. It wasn’t until I went to church on Sunday, and I heard something that made sense. It was kind of like my “uh-huh” moment. It gave me a new way to think about everything, and I hope it helps you too.

SONY DSCThe choir was performing the Christmas Cantata on Sunday. During the program, they lit the candles on the advent wreath, and each of them represented something different – hope, peace, joy, love, and Christ. It was when they lit the candle for Joy that it struck me. Jesus was born, so that we may have joy. Let me say it again- Joy! Notice how I didn’t say, “to be stressed?” That would be ridiculous. Can you imagine if they lit a candle of stress? That’s when it hit me. I’ve been so stressed recently, that I haven’t been joyful at all. If you don’t believe me, just ask Kirt.

This gave me a whole new way to think about things, and it made me ask myself:

 

How can I have more joy in my life?

 

After all, that’s what God wants for me and each of you too!  Seriously, have you ever heard of a little song called, Joy to the World?  Think about that for a second.

christmas-yoga-santaSo, how would you answer that question? For me, I need to do more things that I really enjoy – things like going to aerobics and/or yoga classes, baking Christmas cookies, and going shopping. How about you? I encourage you to think about it and then make it happen! This week make time for the things that bring you joy. Put it at the top of your to-do list. That might mean saying, “no,” to a few things, but you’ll be happier for doing it. Think of it this way – when you’re happier, everyone around you is happier too. Consider that a Christmas gift in itself.

I wish you all a peaceful week filled with love, laughter, and lots of joy!

 

Stay happy, healthy, and N motion, AND REMEMBER…age is just a number!

logo


FullSizeRender-4Melissa Merkle and Kirt Lietzow own Boomers N Motion, an exercise and health coaching business focused on keeping baby boomers and older adults healthy into their golden years.  For more information on group classes and private, in-home coaching, please visit boomersNmotion.com or contact Melissa and Kirt at coaches@boomersNmotion.com.


MS_logo_400v1_copy_280x@2x

Looking for healthy meals delivered right to your door?  MamaSezz offers delicious and nutritious plant-based foods that make it easy to eat healthy.  (Click on the picture to take you to their website.)

2 Replies to “Wellness Wednesday…All I Want for Christmas -Less Stress, More Joy”

  1. I think we all needed to hear this right about now. Thank you so much for sharing your
    thoughts. By the way, you can add creative writing to your resume.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and Kirt!! 🎄🎅🏼🤶
    Glenda

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a comment